Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Taking out power steering

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 06:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taking out power steering

Well I'm a noob to mechanics and am trying to do this, from what my friends tell me I only clamp the two hoses together by the power steering pump then just take the belt off. Am I missing anything?
Old 11-07-2007, 08:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Taking out power steering (irollerblade)

Um alot?! You cant just "take off" power steering. Well you can, but good luck turning... I am pretty sure you will need to replace the power steering system with a rack and pinion system from a car without PS. BTW Why are you taking it off? do you just not want it, or are you replacing the pump or something? If your just replacing parts, refer to a repair manual like a Haynes or Chilton
Old 11-07-2007, 09:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Keep the power steering unless you know WTF you are doing. Removing the belt will leave the system pressurized, making it hard to turn, rather than when its unpressurized. Even then, by removing the fluids from a system that was made to require them will cause the rack to rot out over time from not being sealed and constantly used during motor operation. Someone on here sells P/S removal kits if you really want to take it out.
Old 11-07-2007, 09:07 AM

Default Re: Taking out power steering (jdmturbo1127)

you can just loop it off and makesure the systems full of fluid, one of the guys on here sells a powersteering removal kit.
if your cars a daily driver i would probably recomend keeping your powersteering. only costs you like 2hp.
i had a thread i started about keeping it or removing it recently i can post up the link if u want.
Old 11-07-2007, 09:42 AM

Default Re: Taking out power steering (skcivic4life)