Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

synchros going bad?

Old 07-23-2007, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default synchros going bad?

ok so when going from first to second gear, it is kind of hard to make a smooth shift w/ out grinding a little or not even going into gear. sometimes does this with third as well. also whenever going about 45+ if u even try to put it into first (obviously not going to downshift, but if you are just doing it in habit as u are slowing down) it makes a horrible grinding noise. also the clutch slips slightly when going from first to second and second to third when i am ripping it pretty hard. i originally was going to replace the clutch and flywheel/ should i just take it to honda and have them replace the synchros? maybe throw on a lightweight flywheel while they have the tranny apart. its an 00 si with 66k

thanks for any and all help and sorry if it is kind of confusing, i am not very experienced with transmission problems
Old 07-23-2007, 02:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: synchros going bad? (warriorti22)

You will ruin the engagement dogs on the gears if you keep trying for a gear that you cannot get. Does it pop out of gear? Please explain further.

ISB has failed and countershaft needle bearing may have unseated itself, causing the shafts to torque and the sleeve to not properly align with the gear. Very common problem.

Perform these simple tests to confirm this:

Car off, put it into gear, and rock the car back as forth, to should hear a slight backlash if the bearings are okay, if it clunks and the shifter "jumps" up when pushing, the ISB is bad. Don't confuse the rocking with the engine mounts as the shift will move a little naturally because the engine rocks, but if it takes a noticeable jump, the ISB has failed.