Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Suspension question. Advice needed!

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2004, 08:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension question. Advice needed!

I'm fairly new to cars, just to let you all know before you slam me. I need advice on what type of suspension setup i should look for, for my driving condisions and desires. I have a 98 Civic coupe, with 17' rims. I will never be taking it to the track, it will only be used for daily driving. I live in Phoenix, so i dont have to worry about plowing snow. My plans for the engine will not be much more than SC. So, i will have some speed, but not "going to the track" type of speed. the body of the car is going to stay with the factory bumpers and skirts. So basically i am just looking for looks, instead of performance. but i also want my car to be able to handle the supercharher. I don't care that much how the ride feels, stiff wise. So i was wondering...would springs on stock shocks be fine? or coilovers? or springs on aftermarket shocks? what about camber kits? strut bars? Also, would it be better to go to any certain type of machanic to get them installed? because i went to a goodyear tire and they told me they would install springs on my car for around $630. I thought that was very accessive considering the springs they would put on were only $130 on stock shocks...leaving $500 for installation. sounds rediculous to me, but is that reasonable? anyways, if anyone could give me advice, that would be appreciated. Also, i was wanting about a 2 inch drop, that sounds ideal. I hope this is the right thread to post this in. i read the rules first, and it sounded like it was ok. so sorry if its not! thanks.
Old 09-13-2004, 09:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Get a good coilover, like skunk 2's, and then some Knoi Yellows. That should do you prefect.
Old 09-13-2004, 09:06 PM

Default Re: Suspension question. Advice needed! (Civiapt)