Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Suspension Info / Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2008, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Info / Advice

Hey I got some cash and I wanna get my car ready for a good summer of spirited driving. I am buying rims and tires and lowering it but I don't like to half *** things. I was looking on the Skunk2 site and I ordered the shocks, springs, front, and rear strut bars and I am just wondering if I would benefit from the other 2 parts ... lower control arm and lower arm bars do ... I am not a mechanic by any means but I am a do it once and do it right. I have Anybody help me out?

Thanks in advance

Soc
===========
1997 Del Sol Si
B16B
Skunk2 MegaPower Exhaust
AEM CAI
Koyo Rad
Old 03-08-2008, 03:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Suspension Info / Advice (Socratez)

Get an A-Spec ASR Subframe Bar for the rear end of your car (It's pretty much a really beefy rear lower tie bar). It's well worth the money. If you don't have sway bars,that'd help you too, along with decent tires and good brakes.

Also, if you aren't going to be lowered too much or your roads aren't bad - get the 4 point H-Brace from modacar.com I forget what the brand is but it's only $49 plus shipping ($99 on H-T.com)
Old 03-08-2008, 03:22 PM

Default Re: Suspension Info / Advice (ke98248)

So skip the Lower Control Arm and Lower Arm and get the A Spec thing? Sway bars? what are those? isn't that another name for Struts?
Old 03-08-2008, 03:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The lower control arms are purely for aesthetics -- I know -- because I have them haha.. Yeah it'll run ya about $180 bucks.

Here's a walkthrough on the sway bars and asr brace: https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1906897
Old 03-08-2008, 03:36 PM

Default Re: Suspension Info / Advice (ke98248)