Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Stock 93 DX Hatch will not start

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2015, 08:32 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 Stock 93 DX Hatch will not start

Let me start off by saying this. I am NOT a mechanic in any sense of the word. I am a cyber security analyst by trade and computer geek by nature... However I like to learn to do things on my own, so this car has been my project. So please, when explaining anything.. Don't go crazy with the mechanic terms that a non-mechanic will just scratch their head at.. Just being upfront here...

Setting the stage..
The car cranks but does not start. I was originally told it was the ECU, but I have replaced that with one I recieved from a mechanic at the honda superstore near my home town. It is getting fuel and compression, but not getting spark.

I have replaced the distributor with one that came off a running car. it's an aftermarket distributor with a clear cap. When cranking it over, there is clearly no arc in the distributor. I did the screwdriver test by pulling the plug off the first spark plug and setting it close to a ground and cranking it over... Still no spark.

Thought maybe the distributor was in fact bad (something happened between the running car and mine maybe?) so I "borrowed" the distributor from a friends 93 DX hatch and still nothing... Put his back on and he's still just fine.

The battery in my car is very weak and barely holds a charge, so I've had to have cables hooked up to my other car just to work on this one, so I am getting a battery for it today, but I don't see that being something that would keep it from getting any spark at all.