Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

still over heating after head gasket instal

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2013, 03:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default still over heating after head gasket instal

I'm a very experienced mechanic of over 20 years and this little car is kicking my @$$&%#!!! a friend of mine has a 96 dx civic that started trying to run hot. temp hand goes about 3/4 way. i replaced t-stat went ahead and did watr pump timing belt fan switch temp sending unit still same problem. so i replaced the head gasket. i still have the same symptoms. the radiator was replaced sometime in the recent past. the fan comes on but not always at the same temp. i check the temp with a ir gun at the t-stat housing. initially it comes on around 197 then after cycling a few times it slowly creeps up to 210. the gauge in the car steadily rises. i notice that if i run the heater fan it runs cooler (witch it should) but that doesnt always remedy the problem. also if i move the temp from hot to cold the temp rises really fast. any way I NEED HELP!!! SOS!!!
Old 06-27-2013, 03:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: still over heating after head gasket instal

my honda heats up really fast, as in driving 2 minutes it's at running temp already, 210 doesnt seem like overheating though?
you said you replaced the sending unit. Where's the gauge at when it's "over heating"
also have you burped the system. sounds like you have alot of air in it.
Old 06-27-2013, 03:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

The gauge will eventually go all the way up to just below the white line at the top before the red mark before i kill it. i used one of the funnels you attach to the radiator ran it cycled several times let cool with funnel on then cycled again. heat blows real hot. the 210 is with the ir gun at the t-stat housing.
Old 06-27-2013, 04:10 AM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Bleed air from system? Check for head warpage?