Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Speedometer and odometer don't work

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2012, 04:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speedometer and odometer don't work

everytime i start my engine, my speedometer goes up then down to 20mph, when i drive around slow it moves a lil bit up and down and when im doing 30mph above it doesnt move. and becuase of that the mileage on the car doesnt work also. i have a 1999 honda civic EX with d15b engine and an obd2 p2p ECU.

i just bought the car, 2 weeks ago or so im kinda new to this thing
Old 09-26-2012, 04:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Speedometer doesnt work so does the mileage.

why does your 99 EX have a D15B in it? Shouldn't it have a D16y8? And check your speedsensor and plug. its right next to the T bracket in the back, rectangle plug with 3 wires.
Old 09-26-2012, 04:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member

speedometer head is dead. either resolder the joints on the back of it, or just buy another one off ebay. just did mine and put a crv cluster into my ek hatchie
Old 09-26-2012, 04:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

it was swapped by the previous owner.
Old 09-26-2012, 04:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

sorry for double posting. this is to respond 92lxsleeper's comment, actually it works(sometimes), when im flooring the throttle it works.
Old 09-26-2012, 05:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by renzis00
sorry for double posting. this is to respond 92lxsleeper's comment, actually it works(sometimes), when im flooring the throttle it works.
could still be bad. mine worked intermittently. work for a few minutes, then die. sometimes it woudl work for a full day others not. check all the wires first, especially under the intake manifold. its possible the rubbed through the insulation, but i still think the speedo head is bad.
Old 09-26-2012, 05:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member