Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Some questions about an oil change on a 99 civic si. ** NEED HELP **

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2007, 09:42 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some questions about an oil change on a 99 civic si. ** NEED HELP **

okay well i am going to be doing an oil change on my 99 civic si this weekend. it is my first time ever doing it, but i think i have a general idea of how to do it.

tell me if this is right.

-unscrew the drain plug with a bucket/oilpan underneath it
-once it's all drained out, unscrew the oil filter w/ the pan still udnerneath it
-put drain plug back on with a new washer (is this required)
-put the new oil filter on
-fill with X amount of oil

Is this all correct?

Now my questions. do you have to torque the drain plug to a certain amount when putting it back on? is is neccesary to use a new washer on it? How about the oil filter? does that have to be torqued a certain amount, or do you just hand tighten it? Do you have to lube the seal around the oil filter before putting it on?

Also, what kind of oil should I use in my 99 civic si and how many quarts? it has 92k miles on it. should i get an oem oil filter, or aftermarket?

Now onto jacking it up, etc. Can I place my jack under that radiator support, then use the stands on the 2 jack spots behind the front wheels?

Thanks, all help appreciated.
Old 10-26-2007, 09:50 AM
cute little bastard

Default Re: Some questions about an oil change on a 99 civic si. ** NEED HELP ** (Razr2)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Razr2 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">
tell me if this is right.

-unscrew the drain plug with a bucket/oilpan underneath it
-once it's all drained out, unscrew the oil filter w/ the pan still udnerneath it
-put drain plug back on with a new washer (is this required)
-put the new oil filter on
-fill with X amount of oil