Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

so realistically....how long should a D series motor last?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2008, 10:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default so realistically....how long should a D series motor last?

so I'm still a noob on the forums, and this is my first honda "car" and I've done all the searches and read alot of good interesting facts.

I bought a 97 Civic LX Sedan for $2k.....it needed a new rear bumper and tail lights from a golf cart accident from the previous owner. Sooooo, with my original budget of 4k for a beater, I sent it off to the body shop to get it fixed up and repainted since it was faded and oxidized. I also ordered the CTR grill, and CTR Headlights just to clean it up a little. Last thing I ordered was a set of 15in DR-23 (rota slip lookalikes).

now, I have not touched the motor which I kinda feel like I should have. It's whatever the stock Dseries motor is with a ebay intake and ebay exhaust (previous owner) and the odometer is right at 210k. Is there anything I need to lookout for motor/mechanical wise asap? I was thinking about getting a compression test done, and then putting in a new set of plugs,wires, new o2 sensor. Anything else I should go ahead and knock out?

oh yeah, ebay muffler and intake will be gone.....currently searching for all stock pieces.

you honda guru's please help me out. I got this because I am currently driving 160miles a day, and my Jeep wasn't cutting it. So I need it to be dependable as well as gas conscience as possible.
Old 03-23-2008, 11:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: so realistically....how long should a D series motor last? (Absolutcobra)

Did the previous owner give you maintence statements or anything? If not, I would go ahead and replace timing belt, water pump, plugs and wires, distributor, and a valve adjustment for starters.....
Old 03-23-2008, 11:10 AM