Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Rear Strut Bar Opinion

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2013, 12:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Strut Bar Opinion

Hey dudes.

As I'm new to this whole performance handling deal (driven Jeeps my whole life) I want to know just exactly how much benefit you get handling wise with strut bars. The 94 DX I just bought have a front one and I do have some plans on beefing the thing up engine wise so good handling will be a bonus after/before that is all taken care of.

I read a lot about how they stiffen the strut towers and I was pretty dumbfounded to find out that those aren't welded super tight to the frame. But it sounds like a decent way to be able to fly around some corners without really feeling like you're gonna roll. If I'm on track there?

Just let me know how they have benefited you guys. Thanks!

FYI I love this damn thing. filled it up with premium for like $30 the other day. And that was almost 2 weeks of driving.... Much better than $65-70 every five days on gas in the Jeep...
Old 06-13-2013, 01:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Rear Strut Bar Opinion

honestly you'll get more bang for your buck with sway bars.
Old 06-13-2013, 02:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

my perspective, they are a last step. squeeze the last bit of performance/feel out after everything else has been taken care of.

my priority ranking:
driver skill [(good driver+mediocre car)>(mediocre driver+good car)]
wheels/tires [emphasis on tires, pressures too]
spring and shock/coilover [check the stickies in the suspension subforum to get started]
sway-bar [not only effects roll, but ratio of front to rear stiffness will effect under/oversteer]
bushings [replacing old ones, upgrading to stiffer ones, going nuts with spherical...]
and finally
strut bars/chassis stiffening [you get what you pay for, unless you've got welding and fab. skills like many serious Jeep/off-road guys might...]