Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Rear Power Window goes up not down.

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 07:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Power Window goes up not down.

I'm a newbie who just purchased a 96 Civic LX sedan. My rear power windows do not work properly. Both motors work correctly when I run power directly from a lawnmower battery to the motor(s). However:
-Driver's Rear window will always go down but only sometimes goes up
-Passenger Rear window always goes up but never goes down
The master switch was tested in another Civic and it works perfectly. Each individual switch works properly. I bought a new window motor and it did the exact same thing when I plugged it in each side. All fuses have been tested as well as the relay in the engine compartment. The front windows both work properly from the master switch and the passenger switch.
**Please note that I have an aftermarket Moonroof (it works properly, but may be the problem somehow).
The kicker is that my dome light can be switched on but NONE of the doors will make it come on when opened (Maybe a related electrical problem?)
Why don't my windows work right? My tester showed power coming in on the black/yellow wire coming into the motor. Is it a ground somewhere? Did the installation of the moonroof screw up the harness? Is there a gremlin in the doors? I will send $20 and a thank you card to anyone who gives me the solution to my problem. Thanks.
John
Old 01-01-2014, 07:27 PM
Ferio Wdm Edition

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: $20 to whoever solves my problem. Rear PW

I had light issue similar. I got a new cluster and watched to hook up the door ajar light, so i cut into the ground wire for the door circuits. The light worked, but the light wouldnt dim when the door was closed. It would just go out. Disconnect the moon roof and see what happens.