Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

rapid fire turning signal / overheat issues? 93 civic eg hb

Old 09-07-2007, 09:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rapid fire turning signal / overheat issues? 93 civic eg hb

I'm very brand new to this whole forum thing, rarely ever get into it... but hoping to be doing some new work to my car and share my knowledge with folks. However, I need some help!

I have a 93 Civic EG hatch with just a reg single cam d16 non vtec (with a 95 si on the way)..
About two months ago, a guy ran a stop sign into me and fucked my **** up. He fixed it for me in exchange for me not calling the police. Why I agreed to this is beyond me.

Since I got the car back, I have been finding issues. The grounds were not very well attatched and I used to have one dim headlight and one bright headlight. Fixed that.

But now, sometimes my radiator fan does not turn on when idling, or ever. I thought perhaps my thermostat was bad.. so I changed that.. with no results. I hardwired the battery to the fan to see if the fan was at fault, negative. The fan turns on when connected directly to the battery. SO I checked the relay in the fuse box.. looks good... and as far as I know, the sensor above the thermostat housing is good. The car operates at "normal" temp for a while when it's cool, then (driving it like an *******) it heats up so much as to almost red... sometimes even over heating.

I do have AC and the fan turns on and produces just fine, minus the belt needs changing. Screeeeeeeeeeeeeeech.

I do not have a multimeter. I am assuming the problem is electrical and tied to my passenger side blinker that no longer illuminates and when I turn it on inside the car, it rapid fires (click-click-click instead of click......click.......click). The driver side blinker is fine.

In case I am wrong, I bought a water pump and timing belt to go the long haul.. but if it's not neccesary.. I need some advice.

Please, help.