Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

radiator question

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 02:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default radiator question

hey, im new to this import car thing. last car i had was a truck, and the fan was mechanically driven by the belt. anyways, i was looking at my 95 civic coupe, and recently dropped into it was a GSR motor. the coupe still has the stock radiator in it. whenever i look at the engine bay tho, even after a 20 minute drive, the fan is never on. is it supposed to be? i dont have a water temp gauge, so i never know the car is gonna overheat or not. can someone explain to me what this electric-based fan does, cuz rite now, im thinking nothing . is it broken?

how do i check to make sure that my cooling system is actually working w/out a temp gauge? i could careless if the fan never goes on, so long as i dont overheat my engine.. if you guys could help, please...and be descriptive with simple words, im not all that great in english yet..

i've been hearing ways to 'jump' the fan to make it work, how do i do that? i read about the paperclip trick, no idea how to do that.. i have a haynes book for my car, but i read it, and it doesnt help me much =\ i want to say that theres a sensor problem, but i dont know how to check for it. is there any way i can check it.
yes i kno that a cert mech could be an option, but money is tight rite now, and im fairly knowledgable about how cars work, so i can do some work, plus i have a few helping hands.

i feel so lost with this car..help!
Old 07-12-2005, 03:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

when you had the last engine, did you see the fan turn on? I have a 2000 si and have yet to see my fan turn, but my temp gauge is always normal...theres just usually more coolant in the reservoir after a long drive
Old 07-12-2005, 06:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member