Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Questions about a 1997 Del Sol VTEC with a different motor

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2015, 03:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about a 1997 Del Sol VTEC with a different motor

Hey all,
My name is Jerry, this is my first post on honda tech.
I just acquired a 1997 Honda Del Sol VTEC. This is my first Honda. Prior to this I used to be really heavily involved in the Import Tuner scene with a GSX Eclipse and a Hyundai Tiburon GT but have been out of the game since around 2007. Ive been wanting to get back in and I decided I wanted to finally go with a Honda.
I just got this car last Friday and plan on fixing it up. Got a great deal on it in good shape and everything works like its supposed to.
I will start this by saying I have no prior experience with Hondas so these questions may seem dumb to you more experienced folks. Just assume for right now that I am clueless with what I am about to ask.
Here is the kicker. At some point someone swapped the motor out. It came with a D16y7 in it. My plans for this car is to either do a mini me swap to a D16 vtec head, or get a b16 back in it and either option I am going to go Turbo.
Here is my question. I don't know what all exactly was swapped and I don't know what all to look for. I am attaching a few pics and maybe someone can tell me the answers here.
First off, I know this was an OBD2 car with it being a 1997. Does it look like it is still an OBD2 or is it possible when the engine was swapped it was converted to OBD1? I am clueless on this all of my cars have always been after 1998 models. How can I check or is it not even possible to switch. Like I said this may be a dumb question but I have no idea lol.