Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Problem with my GSR swap Civic

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 10:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with my GSR swap Civic

My name is Brion (Binx has been my long time nickname) and I recently bought a 1995 Civic DX with a GSR swap. I've grown up on V8's and got tired of Camaro's. I've worked on plenty of DSM's (I live right by AMS) too. I also am an Apprentice Technician at a Chrysler dealership.

I'm pretty new to the Honda scene and as far as I have gathered it's a motor trans and ECU swap (plus I/E coilovers, wider tires and aftermarket rims). I went to the track the other week and became a very unhappy man. I'm running high 16's-low 17's and it's cutting me out at about 6500-7000RPM (It sounds/feels like hitting a rev limiter). My buddy also told me I was puffing out black smoke. The swap in this car isn't exactly the best swap i've seen...the wiring is bullshit (open connections just i.e.) and I'm thinking there lyes the problem. I also want to check out the timing. What kind of input could you guys give me? Has anyone else encountered a problem like this? Thanks
Old 07-06-2007, 11:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Problem with my GSR swap Civic (Binx18)

cels? what ecu are you running? obd of engine?
Old 07-07-2007, 12:25 PM

cels (check engine light i'm guessing? If so, no check engine light). I have the P72 ECU, and it's OBD1.
Old 07-08-2007, 04:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (Binx18)

i would have guessed that you were using a p28 from what it sounds like but a p72 would let the rpm's breeze lil over 8,000 rpm's. does the gsr still have the dual runner intake mani ? maybe the secondary's are the problem. even so that would not be your rev limit prob. have you tried using another ecu ? also honda tech is the perfect place to get info on a ecu pinout
Old 07-08-2007, 11:26 PM