Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

power steering delete

Old 06-15-2009, 01:00 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 power steering delete

ok, ive been having all sorts of problems with my power steering, first the rack was leaking fluid, now its not (now that i put HONDA power steering fluid in) but the power steering pump is shot and its making this annoying noise like there's a minibike in my engine. Ive read that i can just remove the ps belt and pump and loop the supply line to basicly make it manual steering. I like it without the power steering, so i think im gonna do it.

but first...

anybody have any advice? how bout pics of the process? I was gonna replace the rack but if i can leave it and delete the power supply without much trouble, id rather do that. Should I replace the rack anyway? if i have to replace the rack, is it easier to just put a manual rack in?

...ive been putting this off for like 2 months now cause i just dont know what i should do!
Old 06-15-2009, 01:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: power steering delete

i filled my lines up with P.S fluid and looped it back in and did not replace the rack ive been fine for 3 yrs now no problems. u could buy the kit that has a reservoir u could fill.. just disconnect the belt for now .
Old 06-15-2009, 01:46 AM
Honda-Tech Member

thanks, thats good to know. so i should just disconnect the belt so itll stop making that noise, huh? easy enough!

btw, this kit youre talking about, is it a breather kit? do you know where to get them?
Old 07-11-2009, 11:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

curious about the breather kit to does this make turning easier when you loop the lines?
Old 07-11-2009, 11:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

and bump
Old 07-12-2009, 02:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post