Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Picking up a 96-00

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2011, 02:06 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Picking up a 96-00

Hello I am new here and am looking at picking up a Civic as my second car because of the rising gas prices. I am a college student so MPG right now is what matters. I just have a few questions before i start shopping for one.

I would prefer a 2dr but i am looking only for a manual. Not interested in SI as right now $ is a factor.

-Is there any differences between these years that i should look for? Such as are 98's better then 99's or is one year more desired for any particular reason?

-Is any model better then the other besides the obvious luxury aspects? Such as EX, DX etc. Does one come with a better/more desired motor/tranny?

-How do they hold up to rust? I am in upstate NY and it is unfortunately an issue. Most common places to look for rust when buying?

-Finally, how many miles are just to many miles to buy one. I know the motors last but with miles comes fatigue and they get slower.

Thanks a lot to anyone who answers this plethora of questions!
Old 03-28-2011, 02:23 PM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Re: Picking up a 96-00

Gas sipper? HX/CX/VX
Rust? Usually around the wheel wells.
Mileage? Never too high if the car is maintained meticulously.

Never buy a heavily modified car-internals, boosted or swapped unless you can verify the cars history. If you buy a boosted car you better know something about turbo Civics.

Don't buy a car that has questionable wiring. Hell ANYthing questionable for that matter. Dirty engine bays and interiors are a sure sign of neglect.

Bring someone with you that knows Civics. And I'm not talking about some wannabe Paul Walker either.

Check to make sure EVERYTHING actually works.
Old 03-28-2011, 02:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member