Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Pending engine swap : B series vs. D series

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2002, 05:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pending engine swap : B series vs. D series

i am still debating what do do for my upcoming swap. It appears that there is a lot of contreversy on this subject. I want to be cost efficient, have a vtec, and with a moderate amount of tuning be able to run 14's at the track. From what i have gathered this is possible with both. Would i need to get a new transmission with the d series engines. come on people i need your advice on this i am still relatively new to the tuning game. I have a stock d15z7 with some minor suspention upgrades. So i need a new engine and i need help on deciding witch one to buy .
Old 09-02-2002, 05:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Pending engine swap : B series vs. D series (92civicJDM)

b series.
dont be stupid.
sohc motors are moneypits that will never produce the power a b series will.
Old 09-02-2002, 05:23 PM
Please don't hurt me!

Default Re: Pending engine swap : B series vs. D series (KAMiN)

ahh b series all the wayyyyyyyyyyy get a b18c or a b20
Old 09-02-2002, 05:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

b series.
dont be stupid.
where is exospeedAMcrx? 13.6 daily driven....stock block d16a6 head work,FD, slicks, tuning. very affordable approach, so much for a money pit.

dohc is a great choice. i love dohc, but there are too many kids who think droppin 2500-3k on a b16a swap is the answer. sohc is a great choice also. many people put them down and don't put any thought into them. lots of dohc guys will hate on them, but to me thats just like a v8 guy saying a 4 cylinder is a stupid choice. SCCA ITA class crx's are powered by the mighty d16a6, if you've ever seen them run, you know those cars are nothing to be slept on.