Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Oil pan gasket leak?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2009, 11:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil pan gasket leak?

Hi, I'm a Honda newb so bear with me. I just recently bought a 93 Hatch with a B18C5, its leaking oil quite a bit. I think I've got it isolated to the edges of the oil pan. Is there any other places it could be coming from that makes it "look like" its coming from the oil pan? I aslo looked at the area around the flywheel and it looks fairly clean, it doesnt have the dust shield on it so I think its just road grime thats around it, the actual flywheel itself is bone dry. I bought an OE oil pan gasket that I guess I'll attempt to put on tomorrow. Any info or tips would be awesome. Thanks
Old 12-24-2009, 11:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Oil pan gasket leak?

drain your oil before you start.
Old 12-24-2009, 11:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by hannslebo
drain your oil before you start.
lol yea, I figured that much. I'm gonna drain it in a new drain pan so I can re-use it since its brand new Mobil 1 (stuff aint cheap).
Old 12-24-2009, 10:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I used the (freshly scrubbed) nuts bolts that hold the pan on to secure the corners of the new gasket into position on the (freshly scrubbed) pan to let it get used to sitting properly and left it sitting on the workbench like that over night. The next day it was much easier to work with because the gasket behaved better. Make sure to put sealant on the pan at the edges/corners of the curved areas that fit over the main seal/oil pump housings. I put a little sealant around the entire inside edge of the lip because my pan lip was pretty scratched up from scraping the old gasket off (it was really glued on good).

Just make sure everything is clean. I wiped acetone on all sealing surfaces. I dipped the fasteners and cleaned them w/ acetone.