Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Noob Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2007, 04:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob Questions

Hey, I am new to upgrading and swaping out car part. I just got my 1996 Honda Civic HX Coupe a couple months ago and want to make it a little diffrent from your every day civic here in the US as well as give it more power.

I am leaning more towards JDM right now, but I want a Type-R Body Conversion kit and all I have been able to find is an SiR Body conversion kit. Does anyone know where I can find a Type-R?

Also on the performance side, I was originally thinkin about doin a GSR Engine swap to a B18C w/ OBD2. I actually have two questions on this:
1)Some guys I talked to said that I could get more power out of a Z-series engine or an LS (I'm not sure if the LS is right, but anyone who could set me straight on it I would appriciate it). Any suggestions on this?

2) I have done some reading on OBD1 and OBD2 and just can not figure out which would be better to go with. I know it diagnostics but i also know that if i get deep enough into my civic, then I will probably have an independent scanner to check the codes in the engine, so any suggestions or comments to enlighten me on this would also be greatly appriciated.

Even though I have looked into a few things, I know I am still very new to all of this and really would like someone to point me into the right direction. Also, anything done to my car I want to be 50-state street legal. Thanks in advance!
Old 10-19-2007, 05:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Noob Questions (rtragan85)

Welcome, i know this doesn't answer all of your questions, but as far as getting more power with an Ls...I assume they were refering to if you built and boosted it. In that case, it's true they'll be pretty fast when you boost them....but if oyu're talking bone stock, then the B18C would be better and with vtec.
Old 10-19-2007, 05:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member