Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Non "fart can" style muffler recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2014, 03:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Non "fart can" style muffler recommendations

Hello
I just wanted to see what people were running other then the loud *** "Fart cans" found on alot of honda's due to them being cheap. currently have muffler with that style with a 4" out on a 2.5" straight pipe. motor is a d16y7, yeah i know non vtec blah blah im going to boost it and call it good (why i still have the straight pipe) anyways im just looking for a deep sounding muffler thats not too loud, preferably an axle back system. Im still learning so anything you see thats incorrect correct me in a non ******* way, we all start from somewhere. thanks for helping out.
Old 09-08-2014, 04:07 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Non "fart can" style muffler recommendations

Personal preference is all it comes down to. Go to Youtube and listen to some setups. I'm personally a big fan of Thrush Turbo mufflers. They're cheap as ****, easy to find, well built, and sound quiet at idle, but give a little bit of growl when you open it up. Also remember that bigger piping will flow better, but will also be louder. For what you have, and what you want, you don't need larger than 2" piping.

Also, don't forget that resonators and catalytic converters also make exhausts quieter.
Old 09-08-2014, 04:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts

^^^^^What he said! and although the bigger piping will be louder it will help to get a deeper tone. I dont think an axle back with give you a deep tone but like he said personal preference.
Old 09-08-2014, 04:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by GoldieWang