Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

newbie here: having problems w/ my ´92 1.5 auto. CIVIC

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2005, 06:11 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie here: having problems w/ my ´93 1.5 auto. CIVIC LSI

Hi there:

I am new to hondas (but I think I like them :-)

- well here's the scoop:

I recently bought a ´93 automatic Civic sedan from an 83 yrs old lady, it has just 25.000 original miles (40.000km) on it (incl. i got the service-book with it)!!!

It has a 1.5 L engine (would you know what "denomination" this engine has???) and runs great.

But there is on problem thats driving me nuts...

If I use the car (so that the engine gets into its operation temperature (its NOT running hot)), then I park it to - say - rent a movie - come back in 3 mins. and the engine wont start. While cranking it, the yellow "engine" light comes on after some 5 secs.

I open the hood - let it sit w/ open hood for 2 mins (to chill out :-) and it fires up just great...

This makes me believe that its some sensor on the air-intake that might be out of whack, as that would be the only thing that cool off within 2 mins. - right?

The car was made in japan, the engine has FI (says something like "programmable electronic fuel injection on the air-ram)

I re-set the ECU by disconnecting the battery - but problem persists

I am pretty sure that there is no mechanical problem, as the engine runs great and fires up just great except for this "will not start w/ hot engine" issue.

Ok, here come my Qs:

- what engine is it??? (i would like to make sure that the jumper trick for the code-readouts is working - and i am not frying the ECU by shortening it.)

- is this hard/no starting issue on a (regular) hot engine a known problem - any links/pointers??

- where would you start to track the gremlin down?

cheers and a lot of thanks for your input - I really appreciate it!

Alfred

Old 05-17-2005, 07:06 AM