Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

NEW TO VTEC AND NEW TO ENGINE SWAP HELP!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 03:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEW TO VTEC AND NEW TO ENGINE SWAP HELP!!!!

I need any and all help I can get! i am putting a d16z6 from a del sol si into my del sol that also has a sohc motor but not a vtec. I dont know what the vtec solinoid and dizzy look like. I dont know if everything is there or not. if anyone can give me step by step and pics to help me that will be great. Both are 5 speeds. also, is there an advantage to doing a mini me swap with the d16 head on the d15 block? Like I said I am new to this and want to do this on my own to save money. I can do an engine swap just havent dealt with vtec before. thanks for your help.

-Tom
tom_mcmullen06@yahoo.com
Old 07-08-2008, 03:37 PM

Default Re: NEW TO VTEC AND NEW TO ENGINE SWAP HELP!!!! (civicminded93)

First off dizzy is short for distributor and it is located on the left end of the valvecover. The vtec solenoid is attached to the head, on d-series it's on the back left side I think. You will have to wire in vtec but it's really easy just a quick search and you'll find it. Either way if your swapping out motors you shouldn't have to take off the dizzy or the vtec solenoid to swap the motors. Also make sure you take the TPS sensor off the throttle body before you lift the motor out of the car, chances are you'll bump it and it'll break.

EDIT:
Now that I'm thinking about it: I'm not big on del sols but if they are both obd1 I THINK that you should just be able to unplug the harness, leave it on the motor. Then swap it into the car with the wiring harness still on the motor. Then just swap the computer too. If that's the case then you shouldn't have to do any wiring at all. Someone else should chime in and confirm/deny this. Just unplug/swap/plug in.

Modified by civicjoe at 5:05 PM 7/8/2008