Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New to imports

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 08:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to imports

I thinking of buying a Del Sol that has a b18b in it. Im very new to Honda so I don't know very much just yet. Its a vtec motor set up with 11.5 to one compression pistons and skunk 2 cams. Thats about all I know but a couple people have told me that it should be making around 220 horses with that he has done to it. Is this right? Also, I'm curious as it what kind of gas mileage I will get out of this, driven with a light foot. Forgive my ignorance, I've never been into Hondas but I'm curious so I'm trying to get as much information as I can before I just run out and buy this thing. He is putting the motor together right now so I don't have any information on it running. I know I'm about to get flogged but I've been into pushrod domestics since I was a kid. Just wanting to see what the other side is like, and do something my brothers aren't doing. Any other added info is appreciated.
Old 05-07-2010, 08:35 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New to imports

Since your new to the game welcome, and secondly, a B18b is not a vtec motor unless he is putting a vtec head on it. Also try and find out what internals he is using for the motor because a stock lsvtec will not make 220 whp.
Old 05-07-2010, 08:48 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if theirs skunk2 cams then its gotta have a vtec head on it, bc they dont make cams for non-vtec motors, and since your new to these cars all ive gotta say is good luck and try and keep your sanity because youve gotta lot to learn so perhaps you should take baby steps with a lsvtec motor since you dont know how to keep a honda motor build like this reliable just baby it around town a untill you start to catch on and getta feel for the car, but its gonna be alot of fun, and so welcome to the honda family