Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New to Honda

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 06:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Honda

Hey guys. Im new to hondas, but not new to the sport compact world. Ive been into them for about 8 years, and haven't had the chance to get an import till now.

So i bought a 1994 Honda Civic Hatchback with the D16Z6 swap. As far as performance, it has the z6 engine, straight exhaust (meaning just a pipe after the stock exhaust manifold), short throw, and the dumb *** who sold it to the guy i bought it from, cut the springs. so its lowered, but only because of the cut springs. It also has a stage 1 clutch, and brand new shocks (cant recall which kind).

Anyway, the previous owner told me that there is nothing mechanically wrong with it. all it needs is a thermostat, serpentine belt, and a distributor gausket? from what i saw it wasnt leaking any fluid except there was grease on top of the tranny, which the guy said was from the distributor. Is this a problem? Is this easily fixed?

Anyway if you guys could post anything i need to know about this car, motor, pro's/con's that would be great.

Again im new to honda, but have loved them since i first learned of them. I LOVE the fact that you can swap motors like underwear and how there are hundreds of thousands of performance parts for them. i cant even beleive it! i cant wait for rock falls in july!

Oh, speaking of rock falls, the previous owner claimed that this car with the current setup ran a 15.4 on the quarter mile? is this BS? if this is true that would be great, cuz a 15.4 out of that naturally aspirated 1.6L sounds amazing.

Thanks in advance for any comments. I expect to have alot of fun with this car.

-Tommyk
Old 06-26-2006, 06:44 PM

The 15.4 is probably BS. Welcome to honda-tech! The first thing you should definetly do is get new springs. That's about all the knowledge I have. Good luck!