Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Need some help finishing up a swap, crank pulley and belts

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2010, 05:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help finishing up a swap, crank pulley and belts

Hi guys, first of all I posted when the car didn't start here: https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/2000-civic-no-start-help-please-2825552/ .. And I'm sorry I didn't reply, but the engine ended up being dead so I've been scrambling lately...

Once I towed it to mechanic, he said the spark was weak so he got another distributor but it still wouldn't start so he checked the compression and it was 0 on 2 cylinders. So RonJ thanks and to all other who helped me there.

I bought an engine, exactly the same one (D16Y7) with tranny and have been swapping it in. I've never done this before, I've only parted a car so I helped pull the motor there but that's it. There were a lot of firsts, and I borrowed my friend's hoist, but it's gone pretty well I just need help with a few things, thanks a lot for looking..

-------

The last part that I have to do is put the belts on and the crank pulley. First of all do I need a crank pulley tool to put it back on? I didn't have to take my old one off, and this engine came with it loose so I just have to tighten it.

I'm hoping I don't have to mess with setting the mechanical timing since the engine came with the tranny attached fully complete, so it should be fine, right?

And this is pretty dumb but I don't know how the belts go. The A/C, alternator, and P/S belts. First of all I mixed them all up and didn't label them (two looked almost exactly the same size?), but I might just get new ones.. but how do they go on?