Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Need an opinion

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2008, 03:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need an opinion

Supercharged or turbo'd?

which should I do and what's the difference?

thanks
Old 08-14-2008, 03:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Need an opinion (devildog12390)

turbo.

save the superchargers for larger displacement motors.

end of discussion.
haha
Old 08-14-2008, 03:49 PM

Default Re: Need an opinion (JdelMsolG)

what's the difference?

and more importantly which is cheaper?
Old 08-14-2008, 06:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member

well, im no expert at it, but i do know that 4cyl cars dont make a whole **** load of power out of superchargers. Superchargers put more strain on the motor from what i hear, but cant prove.

Really, you can piece a turbo kit together for cheaper then what you'll buy a new supercharger with. But you'll be looking to spend about the same if you purchase a brand name turbokit.

I can guarentee you'll make more power easier with a turbo setup.
Old 08-14-2008, 06:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by JdelMsolG &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">well, im no expert at it, but i do know that 4cyl cars dont make a whole **** load of power out of superchargers. Superchargers put more strain on the motor from what i hear, but cant prove.

Really, you can piece a turbo kit together for cheaper then what you'll buy a new supercharger with. But you'll be looking to spend about the same if you purchase a brand name turbokit.

I can guarentee you'll make more power easier with a turbo setup.</TD></TR></TABLE>

That's the basic gist of it.

Displacement has a direct correlation with torque, 4 cylinder motors, and sub-standard size (less than 2.0L) motors, such as Honda motors, have even less torque.