Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

need insight on flywheel shaving

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 09:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need insight on flywheel shaving

Ok so I've been obsessed with throwing all kinds of honda engines into the several integras and civics that I've owned over the last few years. But now I'm waiting to get my b18b from an importer again.....and I'm wondering in the meantime if anyone has any insight on shaving the flywheel. I've been throwing this idea around for a while and now I have the opportunity but I'm a researcher myself so if anyone has any knowledge I'd appreciate it..maybe how much I should take off or an idea of base weight and any kind of comparison I know I'm not the first person to want to get power for free.
Old 01-12-2007, 10:36 AM

Default Re: need insight on flywheel shaving (92greensleeper)

A lot of my buddies shave their flywheels at a local shop to get 1-2lbs out of it...but mainly just to balance the flywheel out. I'd buy a lighten flywheel if I want a really lighten flywheel.
Old 01-12-2007, 10:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: need insight on flywheel shaving (Jinako)

with lightened flywheels u gotta rev a little higher to get the car moving, and you lose tq and gain a little hp
Old 01-14-2007, 08:58 PM

Default Re: need insight on flywheel shaving (fmrprojects)

Really I'm leaning towards acceleration by doing this. I'm not worried about revving a couple hundred higher at the line my b series can handle that .......I was kindof hoping to get more of a yes I've done it and this is what I think kind of response maybe some pros and cons.
Old 01-14-2007, 10:17 PM

Default Re: need insight on flywheel shaving (fmrprojects)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by fmrprojects &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">you lose tq and gain a little hp</TD></TR></TABLE>