Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

need help quick... what's goin on with this thing?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2006, 02:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help quick... what's goin on with this thing?

So i stopped at my mother-in-law's place today, and as I was trying to get turned around in her driveway, I basically dragged my car, thought possibly i'd hit my oil pan, stopped IMMEDIATELY, backed up, changed direction and I was on my way. Told my wife i'd check things out at home after I dropped her off at work to make sure everything was okay.

Well I get home, and see sort of grease in my drivers side fenderwell, and upon further inspection, find this!?? There's thing grease leaking all over the place from that wierd lookin connection. That for sure isn't normal right?? What is that? lol... I'm very new to the car world so I need whatever help I can get. Should I not drive this thing at all looking like that? Is that my axle popping out? Help!

Thanks guys. Appreciate it.

And that's the other side...
Old 08-05-2006, 02:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: need help quick... what's goin on with this thing? (nonvtec92)

Well, Your two front inner cv boot axles riped open. Just buy two new front axles with the new cv boots or replace both the inner cv boots. Id rather replace the whole front axles.
Old 08-05-2006, 02:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: need help quick... what's goin on with this thing? (racer22)

I just bought the car... and this is my 2nd car ever, and i'm just getting into this sorta thing. Forgive me if my questions are stupid.

BOTH my cv boots are torn? Is it very bad to drive it as it is? Can i still drive it or would I be retarded to do that? What can/will happen? What exactly does a cv joint do? The boot covers the cv and keeps it greased correct? What is the cv joint connected too?

Thanks... :D
Old 08-05-2006, 02:56 PM