Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Need Help! I'm new to cars and I just got a 99 Si

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2012, 10:51 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help! I'm new to cars and I just got a 99 Si

Hey guys! First off I'd like to state that this is my first time posting on here and I'm kind of new to the whole car scene(I don't even know if this is the right section to be posting either). I've read quite a few threads and what not and you guys really seem to know what you're talking about. So I came to ask you guys for some advice on my recently purchased 99 Si.

As for the car, it has 175k on it and has the original B16A2 engine. I checked the vin and there were no reported crashes etc. Everything from the mechanical to the electrical is solid. The body looks fine, maybe a few dings and scratches, but nothing that a little TLC can't fix. I was able to get it for $3200

I was just wondering what I should do when it comes to getting more whp. I'm trying to aim for a solid 200-240 whp. I don't want to do any forced induction so please no ," you should boost it bro."

I have about $3500 to spend on mods. My father and I can do the work ourselves as well for the most part (he was a mechanic for about 20 years)

So what would be your guys' suggestions for me? What would be the best performance per dollar?

And a quick thanks to all of you guys who help me out. It's much appreciated.
Old 11-30-2012, 11:08 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Default Re: Need Help! I'm new to cars and I just got a 99 Si

Originally Posted by Jagga
Hey guys! First off I'd like to state that this is my first time posting on here and I'm kind of new to the whole car scene(I don't even know if this is the right section to be posting either). I've read quite a few threads and what not and you guys really seem to know what you're talking about. So I came to ask you guys for some advice on my recently purchased 99 Si.