Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Need advice on 96-2000 Civic Coupe

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2007, 01:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on 96-2000 Civic Coupe

Hello all,

I'm looking to buy a used automatic Honda Civic Coupe, sixth generation. The model choices I have available (so I'm told) are the DX, EX, HX and Si. I'm wondering if you guys know which of these models have a VTEC engine as standard? The Si I know does, for sure. And the HX apparently comes with CVT which will get me a few more MPG. But I'm kind of clueless as to what to look for to know the engine specs, short of lifting up the hood (which you can't do on Craigslist).

Any advice you guys might have would be appreciated. I'm new to the whole Honda thing, so try and spell things out for me in plain English!

Thanks!

Moisty
Old 06-13-2007, 01:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Need advice on 96-2000 Civic Coupe (moisty)

Well if you only want an automatic, you shouldnt get the si, it only comes in manual. The reason being that the Si is the premier civic model, and is directed at sport car enthusiasts... therefore limiting it to manual transmission.

As for dx hx lx etc... All i know is that the models abbreviations stand for how accessory equipped the civic comes with. They should all run off the same engine, save perhaps the hx.

Im pretty sure the dx is the base model, with no a/c and other such options, and the lx is the top model below si.
Old 06-13-2007, 03:36 PM
H-T White Ops

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

If you want an automatic 6th gen Civic coupe with VTEC, you want a Civic EX coupe.

<FONT SIZE="3">Civic CX</FONT>
CHASSIS:
EJ6
YEARS: 1996-2000
BODY: Hatch
TRANSMISSION: 4AT / 5MT
ENGINE: D16Y7
TYPE: 1.6L I4 SOHC non-VTEC
HP: 106 hp @ 6200 rpm
TQ: 103 lb-ft @ 4600 rpm

<FONT SIZE="3">Civic DX</FONT>
CHASSIS:
EJ6
BODY: Coupe / Hatch / Sedan

<FONT SIZE="3">Civic EX</FONT>
CHASSIS:
EJ8
BODY: Coupe / Sedan
ENGINE: D16Y8