Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

n00b questions...any help is appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2003, 06:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default n00b questions...any help is appreciated!

Hey all, I hope I don't get flamed for this, but I own a 2002 Toyota Celica GT as of now, but I am thinking of getting something for track/daily driver use (my car is an auto, and is all show). So, since I am not one for domestics, I thought I would get something that I have always liked such as a Civic Del Sol. But, I want this thing to be an all-motor beast. But, I am a complete noob when it comes to Hondas, I know more about Toyotas for obvious reasons. I did a search, but only found small bits and pieces of information. Anyways, if someone could answer some of my questions, I would really appreciate it. So here goes:

First off, I must tell you all that I am set on a Del Sol, and if I have to settle for anything, it'll be a 92-95 Civic hatch (my budget is limited, and I am going to have to drive the thing around stock before I can afford a swap)...

1. What is the ideal engine to swap into a Del Sol? Is there any way I could fit in a newer H22 with the VTEC and such, and still be able to mod the engine? Or is it too big to fit some of the bolt-ons and such on. I know that if I use that engine, there is no way a turbo or supercharger could fit, but since I am going all-motor, I was thinking that I might still be able to mod the engine.

2. If I don't use the H22, what should I use? I am assuming a B-series, but which one would be the best for modding in an all-motor fashion? (if I can fit an H22 in a Del Sol and still mod it, don't bother answering this question)