Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Mysterious rattle. unsolvable??

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2008, 04:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mysterious rattle. unsolvable??

So I've got a 00' EK hatch with 150,000km, car's mint, like nothing wrong with it whatsoever, (except for the ridiculous lack of power and torque...) but there is this one rattle, that only occurs when cars under load, and at low revs, coming from somewhere in the dashboard more towards the steering wheel. Its not a heat shield this is proven. its not the spring on the clutch pedal, its like this unbelievably annoying rattle that is just impossible to find. if anyone out there has any ideas.. please, I'm desperate here. (BTW I'm a musician and got great hearing, very sensitive to annoying sounds. this is why I'm actually going crazy over this, other wise i wouldn't give a flying f uck...) pix for clix
Old 10-13-2008, 04:32 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Mysterious rattle. unsolvable?? (redhotek)

good luck mysterious rattles have plagued me all my honda life. keep touching different areas on the car in the vicinity until you eliminate the noise. if nothing eliminates it, then start taking panels off (steering column cover, cluster surround, vents, fuse box cover, ect) until the noise goes away. You'll figure it out just in time to have another noise pop up somewhere else. checking screws and bolts for tightness might help too.
Old 10-13-2008, 04:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It. Could me many things. I'll just throw some out there, ISB( input shaft bearing) TOB ( throw out bearing) or even a wheel bearing
Old 10-13-2008, 04:46 PM