Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

modding a b16 oil pan to fit GSR block?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2004, 10:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default modding a b16 oil pan to fit GSR block?

Is this possible, has anybody heard of anybody doing this? I am a good welder, I just am not sure if it would have adverse effects, or what sort of problems could occur from doing this?
Any input would be great thanks!
Old 06-15-2004, 10:52 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: modding a b16 oil pan to fit GSR block? (mattssi)

all you need is the b16 oil pick up and you are set. no welding of the pan neccesary.
Old 06-15-2004, 11:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: modding a b16 oil pan to fit GSR block? (BDCruz)

I was told that the pickup and windage tray fro ma b16 would not fit a GSR block because of the block girdle? And that is why you can use a gsr pan on a b16, but not vice versa?
Old 06-15-2004, 12:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

can anyone confirm this?
Old 06-15-2004, 01:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (mattssi)

this is true.. i had the same problem with my gsr swap.. the pan and pickup were crushed.. i got a b16 one and the pan is too shallow in the rear and the pickup doesn't line up with the holes on the block...

jeremy
Old 06-15-2004, 01:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (sticky667)

Back to my original question though? Is it possible to mod a b16 pan to fit a GSR block. I know it has the same dimensions as far as how it fits around the bottom of the block, but the trays or whatever they are I think interfere with the girdle? yes/no? That is what makes them not fit? is it possible to relocate those to a lower position or mod it to just fit the gsr pickup?

If i have to i will do it the hard way and just start modifying it to fit, But i would like to know if this will cause issues as far as performance, or oil flowing issues?
Old 06-16-2004, 12:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member

bump..
Old 06-22-2004, 10:51 AM