Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

mini me swap, misfires and valves ticking!

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2012, 07:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default mini me swap, misfires and valves ticking!

Hey guys, watsup. Just want to start of by saying this is my first post here, but this site has helped me for a ton of issues ive had. Thanks!

Now for the car (im by no means an expert and this is my first build, so im sorry if im not too knowledgeable...). I have a 97 civic dx coupe (d16y7) as my dd With just a i/h/e. I decided to swap on a y8 head for the extra kick in power, since i got a pretty good deal. RunningIthe ex ecu, only check engine code is for vtec, which i havent wired. I was planning on doing it all myself, but wasnt too sure how to route all the hoses, so i got someone to plug them all up while i has at work, and wouldnt you know it, he routed a coolant line to the charcoal canister along with a few more mixed/blocked lines! Long story short, i guess my coolant and gasoline somehow got mixed. The car was turned on/off periodically before i realized the leak under my car. Im not sure if thats the cause of the damage, but it might be worth mentioning.

Now my valves are ticking like bastards. Timing is correct, new plugs and wires, new fuel filter, and ive tried adjusting the valves about three times, with no progression at ALL. Acceleration feels extremely laggy, with an abundance of misfires. Any idea what i can do? I need my car for work and need it back on the road asap. I would imagine even if im adjusting them wrong that id see progress. Im doing them. 009 exhaust and. 007 intake. Thanks for any help
Old 08-14-2012, 07:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: mini me swap, misfires and valves ticking!