Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

mini me ecu problem

Old 03-30-2014, 11:26 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default mini me ecu problem

Hello all, honda noob here. I just did a d16z6 mini me swap on my d15b. Having trouble with high fluctuating idle.

I replaced the cam gear with a y8 and set the timing marks even with the head plane. Set the crank pulley to the furthest mark to the right on the pointer. Jumped the connector and set the timing, to the furthest timing crank pulley mark to the right, again to the pointer.

Now presuming this is all correct, i can't find any vacuum leaks, or any other problems other than one. The p28 ecu I got is chipped. So I tried swapping out my p28 with my original p06. When I did, everything was good, except for the check engine light of course. I need to get my ride back on the road asap. So what i'm asking, do you think the chipped p28 is mapped out for another setup thats not doing right with mine? Did I set up my timing properly? And if the ecu is the problem, can i drive my car with the p06 until I get another ecu without messing up my car? Thanks for any and all help.
Old 03-30-2014, 11:41 AM
nub
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: mini me ecu problem

With the head (if it still has the Z6 cam) and block the Y8 cam gear is correct. When setting the mechanical timing you use the mark at 7 oclock though, not the head surface.

What you described for the ignition timing sounds wrong if I understand you. You want to shoot for the middle of the three marks clustered together to the left of the TDC mark that's by itself.

For the ecu depending on what's on the "chip" it could be your problem. Most of these are generic base tunes that are junk.

Something you can do to revert it back to stock. On the board next to the chip is a spot marked J1, it should have a jumper across the two terminals. Cutting this reverts it back to the stock program.
Old 03-30-2014, 11:46 AM