Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

main bearing cap removal

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 01:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default main bearing cap removal

i removed all the bolts in the specific order and sequence honda recomends and now im scared to just tug away at it....... so do i just do that or what?

i don't want to warp it and need a new one

any help would be great.

when i remove it will the crank want to come with it??
Old 12-25-2005, 02:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: main bearing cap removal (shy_guy98ex)

make sure the tangs are placed back cporrectly and did you index it? it would be a lot of help if you index it before removal, there should also be arrows too.

tomy_r
Old 12-25-2005, 02:24 PM

yeah i've been idexing the hell out of it. and what are the tangs? this is my first time doing bottom end work.
Old 12-25-2005, 02:45 PM

Default Re: (shy_guy98ex)

if you still have the rear main seal cover on it, more than likly the crank won't want to fall out. just be carefull and aware of where everything goes. you sound like you really want to do this right. good luck.
Old 12-25-2005, 03:40 PM

thanks a lot rainforest, i have been taking everything out and trying to keep EVERYTHING in the proper order on the diagrams i printed out and keep in mind which order everything is in and not allow myself to lose anything.

it gets serious when you can see your pistons for the first time!!

but yeah how down the main bearing cap come off after unbolting it?
Old 12-25-2005, 06:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

tangs are slits on the metal bearings where it should align back up with the other slot on the bearing cap. do you know what is a feeler gauge is? if you do know you should measure the crankshaft side play, main bearing side play and the crush bearing side play and check it out with the manufactures specs. you should do this first and check it out.

tomy_r
Old 12-25-2005, 08:50 PM