Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Lsvtec timing help and how to set cams to TDC if using aftermarket cam gears

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2011, 08:51 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 Lsvtec timing help and how to set cams to TDC if using aftermarket cam gears

Ok my name is Chad. I am new to all of this so please stay with me and give me any help you might have. I bought a 94 civic off craigslist and it has a lsvtec swap. I was told it has type R internals if that makes since. It is a B18a1 block with a B16 head. It was running fine for about five months and then it started smoking so I pulled the spark plugs out and sure enough I could see water ontop of the pistons. So I took it home and went and ordered a lsvtec goldeneagle headgasket and dowel pins. Then I started removing the head. Before doing anything I put the crank at TDC and then set the cam gears with the marks that are on them. Then removed the belt and then valve cover and so on. After removing the head I noticed that the dowel pins that were there were on the intake side and they look like they were the wrong size and the headgasket was crap. So I removed them. Then I sent the head to be resurficed. Then I started putting everything back together the way it came off other then I put the dowel pons on thE exhaust side. Then after I had the head on and everything I lined the marks on the cam gears back up like I had them when I removed the belt and made sure the crank was still TDC and then installed the T belt. After everything was back together I wentto crank it up and it started but then pooped out on me. An now it just turns over and acts like it wants to start but don't. I have no clue what's going on. I know it's timing but I am a real noob at all of this so if someone could give me a good detailed run down on how to make sure my cams are TDC and the cam gears are lined up right. They are aftermarket cam gears. And where to set the dizzy. I