Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

light crash has civic stalling after bags deployed

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2013, 09:08 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 light crash has civic stalling after bags deployed

Hi,
new here to the forum and am needing some help in repairing the deployed aibrags in an 97 civic.
car was involved in a very minor incident and both bags were set off,srs light is on,I have new bags but need to know if other component need replaced or how system needs reset.I am a qualified mechanic and understand the dangers of airbags.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. car was purchased as a rebuilder
Old 12-29-2013, 09:15 AM
longest project ever

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: light crash has civic stalling after bags deployed

the control module needs to be replaced, it also has one of the sensors, its the one in the center of the car under the dash, it contains the safing sensor, the power backup for the airbag system, and the air bag controls, as far as I know it's a one shot deal, the clock spring in the steering wheel also needs to be replaced as well as your seat belts. there is no "minor" accident if the airbags deploy. the seat belts may look ok, but they are designed to stretch in a wreck.
Old 12-29-2013, 09:31 AM
Trial User

ok,
sounds great,
now if i replace all these parts,is there a sensor in the front of the car that may have been damaged also?The front bumper cover was only scratched and not broken in the impact.
Old 12-29-2013, 12:07 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

lol just leave them out....you're going to be in for ALOT of work doing all that, and no there's no DIY's for it, how was it minor when the air bags go off ?.
Old 12-29-2013, 02:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You're looking at $2k in parts, unless you get them at the salvage yard.