Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Learning to modify a car

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2003, 09:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Learning to modify a car

I'll be getting my Honda Civic soon (first car) and i want to learn how to 'soupe' it up like you guys do. I have no experience in modifying cars but i would like to gain the knowledge. How did you guys learn when you first started out? mechanic course or maybe even the internet? Any tips or suggestions for beginners like me would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

(if i posted this in wrong forum, sorry please move.)
Old 12-17-2003, 09:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Learning to modify a car (JaxeN)

Good ole Trial and Error

I first started with a '76 jet boat over ten years ago, first engine rebuild I ever did on a 455 Olds engine. Blew it up the first time, rebuilt it and ran like a top since. Just follow directions with parts and get an owners manual!
Old 12-17-2003, 09:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Learning to modify a car (Marauder)

Get a helms manual ( http://www.helminc.com ) and a torque wrench. They will be your 2 best friends. Aside from that, just hang around, and do some reading. Figure out what you want most, good handling, more power, etc.?

One thing to remember in the import world, is that if it is cheap, then it is probably crap. If it is expensive, then it might still be crap. Just gotta do your homework and spend your money wisely. Don't be sucked in by the Pepboys commercials and the JDM craze.
Old 12-17-2003, 09:54 AM
New User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Learning to modify a car (kommon_sense)

Glad to see you want to learn rather than be told what to do.

Hang out on this board, I've learned and taught a lot here...

Next, go to http://www.howstuffworks.com - Read how a combustion engine operates, it will give you a lot of insight.
Old 12-17-2003, 10:10 AM

go on h-t a lot it helps