Leaking radiator head(?), oh joy.

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 04:24 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 Leaking radiator head(?), oh joy.

Oh this car.
I've a '92 auto DX.
Now, I'm a college student with very, very little experience with cars beyond the basics--oil, fluids, air in the tires. I'm learning, since I don't want to be that girl. But it's a good idea to talk to me like I'm stupid, just in case.

The problem: I think my radiator head's sprung a bitty leak--at least I think that's the term for the very large boxy bit that my coolant cap and overflow assembly are on top of--and I'm not sure if I need to get it replaced/how to replace it/what to inspect to diagnose the problem/how to convince my crazy uncle that a raw egg in the coolant tank won't plug the hole.

The History:
Several months ago, a mysterious light-brown splatter showed up in my engine. Wasn't sure what it was or where it had come from. A guy at O'Reilly's pointed out that it looked like my coolant had explosively leaked at some point, but I didn't notice when it happened and it hadn't happened since, so I didn't think about it.
Couple days ago, my coolant sprung a leak that I did notice. It stunk up the car while I was driving (not the burnt oil smell) and was smoking when I stopped. I saw exactly where the leak was coming from--tiny, tiny little thing, from where the top bit of the radiator meets the rest of it. That seam, on the right hand side facing the engine. It stopped really quickly, engine didn't and hasn't overheated; I didn't freak out because my stepdad had apparently overfilled my coolant, and no one else was really concerned.

The same smoky thing happened again last night, but it was dark so I couldn't get a good look at what exactly was going on. Smelled the same, though.