Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

which kit?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2004, 04:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default which kit?

I'm not sure if this should be in forced induction but here goes. I'm going to be buying a greddy turbo kit shortly here, but at the same time I want to go obd1 with maybe a skunk 2 ecu. I have a y8 mini-me in my hatch, I just plan on running a jumper harness and getting rid of the ex ecu(I think p2e) and going with the p28(chipped). My question is what kit should I get, I understand that the hardware for the 96-00 sohc kit will fit my car, but I'm not sure that the emanage that comes with the kit will work on a p28(obd1). I heard that the emanage(blue box) is garbage anyway, If I go with the kit and scrap the blue box what should I go with? sorry for all the questions but I'm new to boost.
Old 07-09-2004, 04:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: which kit? (dogfood)

If you want the Greddy Kit then get it and when you chip the P28 chip it for Hondata or Uberdata and youll be set. No blue box needed.
Old 07-09-2004, 04:37 PM

Default Re: which kit? (Luserkid)

what about a boost controller? And what does the blue box do then, since it's not a must have?
Old 07-09-2004, 04:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Blue box (from my understanding) is just a fuel management system that sucks *****.

Boost controller is ran off of vaccums that go to your wastegate, has nothing to do with chipping your ecu unless if you get a S-AFC or a Greddy electronic controller then that wires up to something (no clue dont use it, i perfer manuel boost controller).
Old 07-09-2004, 04:45 PM

Default Re: which kit? (Luserkid)