Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Just Got a GSR Swap have Questions???

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2009, 08:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just Got a GSR Swap have Questions???

Hey i am new to the whole swap scene. Here are some questions that i have. Any help would be appreciated.

Here is my background info. I have a 99 Civic CX hatch. What i have done to the car so far:

GSR Brakes all around with MC/Brake booster and SI 40/40
SI front and rear sways
lowered on Tokico illumina's and skunk2 coils (I know everyone loves GC but i got the setup for free)
Skunk2 front and rear camber kit.
Power window conversion (dont know how to get power locks to work)
Power steering and AC.
All CTR parts (awaiting paint, next project)

Here is what i just got:

2000 GSR Swap complete (whole engine, tranny, mani, dist, shift linkage, ac compressor, ecu) minus power steering pump and OEM intake.

Here are the questions:

1. How do I keep my AC and Power Steering after the swap?
2. What should i do to the engine before putting it in? (Timing belt, WP and all the other belts are mandatory).
3. This is my daily driver so what clutch and flywheel should i get?
4. What do i need to swap it into my car? I heard you need the SI rear mount but what else?
5. I read in one of the forums that you need to get the ECU Flashed on 99 and up GSR's if thats true where can i get that done?

My ultimate goal is to get it bar'd so i want to do things right. I have time and want to do things right but i dont want to do a complete rebuild. If you know where i can get some good prices on some OEM parts besides Ebay let me know.

THANKS H-T!
Old 02-04-2009, 09:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Just Got a GSR Swap have Questions???

Originally Posted by luder916

you will need the gsr power steering brackets, and

https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/faq-retaining-power-steering-ek-b-series-swap-1822781/