Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

JDM or USDM?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2004, 05:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JDM or USDM?

I was talkin to a buddy and he said that JDM motors were weaker than the USDM, is this true? I always believed that the JDM motors were built very well... i may be mistaken...
Old 12-15-2004, 05:24 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: JDM or USDM? (92SiBlu)

if its the same motor... it would generally be the same build. the ECU's maybe different.
Old 12-15-2004, 05:26 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

from what I can see from charts and heresay on HT, the only difference is the compression ratio, which seems to increase polution output, hence why US doesnt have it. But then again Im no expert, so wait for someone more informed or search on those two differences.

I do know the compression ratio is different on them though. (IE... more power) but if you are modding, what does it matter, you can bump up compression yourself.
Old 12-15-2004, 06:21 AM
Honda-Tech Member

All a matter of what you want, what you're putting it in, and what you're plans are for modding it. Personally, I'd go JDM for NA, and USDM for boost due to the compression issues. Japan is lucky, the have 100 octane available everywhere!!!
Old 12-15-2004, 06:48 AM

Default Re: JDM or USDM? (vsm97lsvtecnit)

more than likely he would drop the compression if he was boosting anyways, even in USDM.. its not that big of a difference... silly 04..........
Old 12-15-2004, 07:16 AM

Default Re: JDM or USDM? (CooBlueDAB)

who do you trust more.....american workers or japanese?

Old 12-15-2004, 07:18 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: JDM or USDM? (Del_Slowest)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Del_Slowest &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">who do you trust more.....american workers or japanese?</TD></TR></TABLE>
that depends on whats the job.