Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 Civic Shifter noise?

Old 03-29-2018, 05:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Civic Shifter noise?

Alright, I REALLLLLLLLLLY didnt want to make a thread about this because 1. im a benz technician 2. ive owned alot of civics 3. im pretty confident in my ability to work and fix cars. Until now. And im admitting defeat. but im honestly out of ideas on what it could be.

Backstory:
2000 Civic lx 5 speed 140k miles. Daily driver. When i first bought the car it had a very sloppy shifter (assuming it was shifter bushings etc) So i bought these Dimes shifter bushings . Made a pretty decent improvement but it was still very floppy. So i said screw it and decided to go with a 99 Acura GSR shifter upgrade . Followed it to the T and bought everything brand new from the dealer for the internals I.E. dust boot, new bushings etc etc (the very bottom of the shifter where the bolt goes through) and the shifter new as well. Cut everything within spec and it bolted right up. Improved the feel of the shifter 1000x more. Super happy with my modification i decided to really look at my car. upon further inspection i found 3 of my motor mounts were just toast. No big deal enter these Anchor motor mounts (this is only one but i made sure all were from the same company) Replaced the two uppers and two lowers. THE ONLY ONE I DIDNT REPLACE was the rear trans one near the fire wall (i had limited time at that moment and i left that for another day) That was about a month and a half ago. Heres where it gets weird.
In the last 2 weeks my while my car idles it makes this noise where it sounds like the ball of the shifter is hitting the body of the car (its not) and when you lift up on the shift kn0b the noise stops. It also makes a POP noise when youre driving and you let go of the gas.