Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Idle / Limp problem (VIDEO INSIDE)

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2013, 08:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle / Limp problem (VIDEO INSIDE)

Let me explain my problem and what I have tried. I'll start by saying i'm no mechanic and this is my first swap.

It's a 95 d16z6 (Came out of an automatic) into a 93 civic cx, using the CX engine harness with p28 ecu (Auto converted to manual) and pinned for vtec.

The car starts, and runs. The idle seems ok for a little bit then it will practically stutter out of no where until it's ready to stall. Then the idle will come back up and idle normal again.

Secondly, I've drove the car twice since the swap to test everything and break in the clutch. Both times I drove the car I got on it at least once to see if vtec was engaging and to get a feel for the new swap. BOTH times after getting on it, the car goes into "Limp" mode where it literally has no power, sounds like it's screaming and going no where. Feels like it's running on 1 cylinder or something.

Things i've tried:
Cleaned Vtec Solenoid
Cleaned the FITV
Cleaned IACV - Tried a different IACV off another d16z6
New Cap / Rotor / Coil / Plug Wires
Tried another dizzy from another z6
Checked for vacuum leaks (none)
Checked & Re-did the timing like 10 times (Mechanical & Ignition timing is on)
Cleaned pretty much every port on the intake manifold with Carb cleaner
Cleaned the gunk out of the hose running from Intake Manifold through down to the back of the block into the black box.

It also sounds like it has a bit of misfire when down shifting and idling you can hear the popping in the exhaust.

In the video you can see the stutter issue, don't mind the wining from the timing belt / cam gear, I over tightened the timing belt, that is fixed now. This is the only video I have at the moment of the stutter, but I can take more.