Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

IACV?? help a new EGer out

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2006, 05:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IACV?? help a new EGer out

hey guys.. ive bought myself a 93 cx hatch with a ls vtec swap and it has a few problems. im new to obd1/bseries/vtec etc.... my dealings in the past have been limited to ef's and zc's so im a little ignorant on all this here we go

the car is a ls vtec done with a gsr head and a 93 gsr ITmani. the car idle surges fairly fast like wump wump wump wump (like if it had a fat cam i it... or soething)and has a high pitch dremel tool like noise that seems to be coming from the iacvbut goes away at partial throttle. im also having problems with the car violently stuttering and stamering at about 15% throttle.. anything over that it pulls great. its a but diffucult to drive because for it to accelerate smoothly you have to get on it. not so good in traffic.

anyone have any ideas?? could this be the iacv? and if so.. are all the b series motors the same for the part? or do i need one specific to the 93 gsr intake mani i have??

thanks in advance for helping.. i know its a lot of ****.. ineed to get this thing fixed so i can enjoy it!!

-Clayton
thanks
Old 05-08-2006, 06:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: IACV?? help a new EGer out (claytonsmith)

bump... anyone?
Old 05-08-2006, 06:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

hahah good luck with the idle problem man. I have it too, and alot of people here will tell you this and that but seems like nothing has worked for me yet. but here are some stuff you can go over: check vacum lines or leaks, bleed coolant if possible, check tb gasket, clean iacv and you might want to do the same for the fitv if your car has one. thats all i can think of, hopes that helps cause it didn't for me. i just learned to live with the problem. good luck
Old 05-08-2006, 07:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member