Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

I want to learn...

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 03:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to learn...

Hello everyone,

I have had civics for almost 10 years now and I wouldn't buy any other make other than Honda from now on.

BUT unfortunately I have not been able to learn as much as I wanted to about the mechanichs of them. As I plan to do a motor swap on my EK further down the line.

POINT: I want people's advice on how you guys have become savy about the ins and outs of civics. Now obviously if some of you are mechanics you have an unfair advantage. Or if you have been working on honda's since you were 4 yadah yadah yadah.

I want to know what are some suggestions of means of information other than civic manual. Or whats a good starting point for someone who isn't in a shop 5 days a week. If a manual is it...so be it.

Even though I have had civics since 16-17...Im a nOOb. But I want to learn so Im not talking out my culo.

Thanks, I appreciate everyone's wisdom and input.
I hope this post does't annoy any1...Im just trying to learn and not be so much a noob.
Old 11-13-2007, 03:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: I want to learn...

I would honestly start out with a manual and a somewhat decent set of tools... maybe a $200, Craftsman 263 piece mechanics tool set. Grab a Helms manual and start doing simple things like brakes, oil changes, shock installs etc.

The easiest way to learn is to get over the fear of trying something for the first time or by yourself. If you have friends that know alot about Honda's I would ask them to supervise you during your repairs if you are uneasy.
Old 11-13-2007, 03:58 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

How did I learn???? Even if you ask I cant tell you "how". I just did. When I have a problem. I search the hell out of it and try the solutions I read about.