Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

I need help finding a new clutch for my honda civic hatchback 1997

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 04:15 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help finding a new clutch for my honda civic hatchback 1997

I have a 1997 honda civic hatchback with a 2001 prelude h22 engine, 5-speed, it runs less than 200hp and recently the clutch has not been fully engaging into gear. At times i have to push in the clutch again and accelerate in order to get speed, or else the car just stays idle. i’m new to this so this is very strange and it never happened before. At the same time it also feels a tiny bit rough when putting the car into 1st gear and when putting the car into reverse, the shifter doesn’t go all the way in. i need help or any bit of advice, THANK YOU!
Old 03-18-2019, 05:52 AM
I like the tuna here

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: I need help finding a new clutch for my honda civic hatchback 1997

So when you let out the clutch in order to start moving, the clutch doesn't grab? Your second issue (going into gear rough) makes me think you might have air in the clutch line or low fluid. Regardless, Exedy makes good clutches for stock-ish HP.
Old 03-18-2019, 06:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

It only happens sometimes when i’m already moving changing into 2nd gear and up. i’ve asked a couple people about it and they say it could be a two-step clutch or something like that but i doubt it since it’s never done that. And also i hope that’s the case because for now replacing the fluid or removing the air could save me some bucks for now. andd you have any recommendations for a good fly wheel to go with that clutch? i was thinking an aluminum flywheel to cut some weight on a already heavy h22 motor, plus my intentions are to have a street/race car so i think that’s the better option???? i just want some more insight. )
Old 03-18-2019, 08:39 AM
I like the tuna here