Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

I have no power

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2004, 01:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I have no power

I have a 98 Honda Civic DX H/B and problem is that I'm unable to get any kind of power. At the most when I hit the gas I might get about 5 mph. The engine was taken out to paint the engine bay. It idles fine for about 5 minutes then drops it's rpm's and has some trouble stayin running but it doesn't shut off. Car hasn't honestly been ran that much for about 2 years so not sure if it's the fluids in the engine just bein old.

Work that has been done are CAI, a header for an ex put together with a ex cat, and cam gear. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not that good with engines and I heard this was the place to come for help. Thanks in advance.
Old 04-10-2004, 01:07 PM
mike93eh

its because you have a dx..
Old 04-10-2004, 01:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (mike93eh)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by mike93eh &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">its because you have a dx.. </TD></TR></TABLE>

Better yet it's because you have a Civic.

EDIT: This is going to be super tough to track down online. Are you throwing any check engine light codes?

When was the last time it worked correctly?

You say you can't go more than 5mph?
Old 04-10-2004, 01:11 PM
mike93eh

but seriously, if the car has been sitting for awhile. do a full tuneup, and i mean FULL tuneup. replace all fluids, even the gas..
Old 04-10-2004, 01:17 PM

Default Re: (Ricey McRicerton)

Thank you for the serious edit. Honestly not sure if it's throwing a code, last time it worked correctly was October of 2001, since then it's been in and out of body shops. (long story) Not sure if it's throwing a code honestly. Gauge cluster has been out of it for a while so don't know if it's throwin a check engine light.
Old 04-10-2004, 01:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member